Community Outreach  > Community Health Initiatives  > Upcoming Prostate Cancer & Diabetes Screenings 

Upcoming Prostate Cancer & Diabetes Screenings

January/February 2015 Screenings
Free prostate cancer and diabetes screenings are offered each month for those who qualify.
Call CareCall at 803-296-CARE (2272)
for a complete listing of upcoming events and to register.

Prostate Cancer Screening Eligibility:

  • African-American men age 40-69; if family history, screening at age 35
  • All other men age 50-69; if family history, screening at age 45

Screenings will not be performed for men previously diagnosed with prostate cancer.

Diabetes Screening Eligibility:

  • Non-diabetic adults agfor prediabetes or “high risk” for developing type 2 diabetes
  • Non-e 18-44 must be at risk diabetic adults age 45 and over are eligible for testing regardless of risk

Risk is determined by completing the American Diabetes Association risk assessment card. Screenings will not be performed for anyone previously diagnosed with diabetes.


Thursday, January 8
Take 5
1501 Sumter Street
Columbia, SC 29201
11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, January 15
Take 5
1501 Sumter Street
Columbia, SC 29201
11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, January 22
Take 5
1501 Sumter Street
Columbia, SC 29201
11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, January 22
Crossroads Middle School Family Health Night
6949 St. Andrews Road
Columbia, SC 29212
5 p.m.-7 p.m.

Thursday, January 29
Take 5
1501 Sumter St.
Columbia, SC 29201
11 a.m.-1p.m.

Saturday, January 31
Mt. Pleasant Church
505 South Church St.
Swansea, SC 29061
10 a.m.-2 p.m.

Thursday, February 5
1501 Sumter St.
Columbia, SC 29201
11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, February 12
Take 5
1501 Sumter St.
Columbia, SC 29201
11 a.m.- 1 p.m.

Friday, February 13
Christ Family Worship Church
Cecil Tilis Center
2111 Simkins Lane
Columbia, SC 29204
2 p.m. -4 p.m.

Saturday, February 14
Journey United Methodist Church
1151 Longreen Parkway
Columbia, SC 29229
9 a.m.- 1 p.m.

Thursday, February 19
1501 Sumter St.
Columbia, SC 29201
11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, February 26
Take 5
1501 Sumter St.
Columbia, SC 29201
11 a.m. -1 p.m.